Dr. Julio Fernandez-Cestau – After a long period with us as MSCA post-doc and sub-group leader, he was awarded with the Ramon y Cajal Fellowship to become group leader in a tenure-track professorship path at the University of La Rioja.

Dr. Mattia Nieddu – Bioeconomy Innovation Award, Technical University of Munich – Campus Straubing for Biotechnology and Sustainability 

Dr. Jesús Agustín Banda Vázquez – Bioeconomy Innovation Award, Technical University of Munich – Campus Straubing for Biotechnology and Sustainability



Dr. Yanyan Duan – After the excellent Yanyan’s PhD, she was appointed as tenured Associate Professor at Nanjing University in 2022. She will combine it with a Humboldt post-doc fellowship at the Max Planck Institute in Stuttgart.

M.Sc. Luca Maria Cavinato – Young Researcher Award from Symposium D1, E-MRS Spring Meeting 2022

M.Sc. Luca Maria Cavinato – Finalist of the European Young Chemist Award EuChemMS

M.Sc. Luca Maria Cavinato -RSC Horizon Prize of the Dalton Division 2022

M.Sc. Marco Hasler – Master Thesis Award called ‘Wissenschaftspreis Straubing 2022’

Dr. Julio Fernandez-Cestau – RSC Horizon Prize of the Dalton Division 2022



Dr. Elisa Fresta – After her PhD, she got 3 post-doc grants: Juan de la Cierva Fellowship at IMDEA Nanoscience, Severo Ochoa post-doc fellowship at ICFO, Humboldt Fellowship at University of Heidelberg. She decided to become a Humboldt post-doc fellow since 2021.

M.Sc. Sara Ferrara – Best Presentation Award at E-MRS Spring Meeting 2021.



Dr. Verónica Fernández-Luna – After her great PhD, she became leader of the department digital transformation at Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson.

Dr. Juan Pedro Fernández – Short before we moved to TUM, he became Associated Professor at U. Carlos III.

Dr. Elisa Fresta – Her PhD led to >25 papers and 3 awards: Best PhD Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Best PhD of Madrid Region, Best PhD in Nanomaterials by RSQE.



Dr. Maria Bidikoudi – After a successful post-doc period, she became permanent member of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of the Peloponnese.



Dr. Juan Pedro Fernández – After joining our group, Dr. Fenández was appointed as tenured researcher at IMDEA Materials.


Chair of Biogenic Functional Materials

Schulgasse 22
94315 Straubing

Email: biofunmat@cs.tum.de

Head of the Chair

Prof. Dr. habil. Rubén D. Costa
Tel.: +49 (0) 9421 187-470
E-Mail: ruben.costa@tum.de


Susanne Zosel
Tel.: +49 (0) 9421 187-480
E-Mail: susanne.zosel@tum.de

Jasmin Schneider
Tel.: +49 (0) 9421 187-201
E-Mail: anjasmin.schneider@tum.de

Theresa Rothammer (nicht anwesend)
Tel.: +49 (0) 9421 187-480
E-Mail: theresa.rothammer@tum.de